The WordPress block editor also called the block editor, WordPress editor or Gutenberg editor is the new way of publishing content in WordPress.
Following the launch of WordPress 5.0 in December 2018, the WordPress block editor was set as the default editor and replaced the classic editor. To use the classic editor, you will need to install the classic editor plugin.
The new WordPress block editor offers an array of blocks that can be used to create media-rich pages and posts. You can control the layout of the blocks with ease, to build visually appealing web pages.
Blocks are the content elements that you add to create content layouts. You can add blocks for paragraphs, images, headings, lists, videos, galleries, and more. WordPress has blocks for all common content elements, and more can be added through WordPress plugins.
The Block Editor’s workspace
To launch the WordPress block editor, click on Posts > Add New or Pages > Add New.

The block editor opens by default in fullscreen mode.

The WordPress block editor workspace has three main sections:
- the top toolbar
- the sidebar with the post/page settings and the block settings
- the content area.
The top toolbar

At the top left of the block editor workspace, you will see the following options:

Exit the Editor: Shows the W icon by default, or the Site Icon if available. Click to exit the editor. This will prompt you to save the changes or leave the post or page.

Block Inserter: Add blocks of content to your post or page, like text, images, and much more.


Tools: Switch between editing a block and selecting a block. Choose the Select tool (or press the Escape key on your keyboard) to select individual blocks. Once a block is selected, press the Enter key on your keyboard to return to editing.


Undo and Redo: Undo an action, or redo an undone action.

Details: Get the post/page details including the character and word count, the number of paragraphs and blocks on the post/page, and the document outline showing the headings and how they are structured on the post/page.


List View: See a list of all of the blocks that are on the post/page and easily navigate between the blocks on your post/page. Read more about List View tool.
Before you publish your post or page, you will see the following options in the top right corner of the block editor’s workspace.

Save draft: Save a draft of your post or page without publishing it.
Preview: View how your post/page looks on your site.
Publish: Make your post/page available publicly.
After you publish your post or page, you will see the following options in the top right corner of the block editor’s workspace.

Switch to draft: Unpublish a post or page, making it a draft.
Preview: See how your post/page looks on your site.
Update: Save the changes to your post/page.
Details on how to use the preview function.

Settings: Show or hide the post/page sidebar settings and the block settings.

Options: Open up more options.
More options
To access more options, click the three dots to the right of the Settings ‘cog’ icon in the upper right corner. Here, you can customize your editing experience using various options.

View
Display or hide the top toolbar in the editor. When you enable this option, block toolbars are pinned to the top of the WordPress block editor (right under the top toolbar) instead of appearing directly above the block.

With spotlight mode, all blocks are greyed out except for the one you’re working on so that you can focus on a single block at a time.

Editor
By default, you will be in the Visual editor. Switch to the Code editor to view the entire post or page in HTML code editor.
Tools
Here, you can manage reusable blocks, learn keyboard shortcuts, visit the WordPress block editor welcome guide, copy all content on the post/page, or view additional support articles.
Preferences
Use the Preferences menu to:
- Customize the editing experience.
- Change how you interact with blocks and which blocks appear when searching for a block.
- Show or hide individual panels from the post/page settings.
How to switch-off Fullscreen mode?

To switch-off Fullscreen mode, use the three-dot menu on the top right and un-check the Fullscreen mode.
Your choice will be stored in your browser’s local storage. If you switch browsers, the choice for the view will not be remembered and you have to set your preference again. This will be the case when you switch computers as well.
Safari browser users will experience a reset of default settings once in a while as it is programmed to delete local storage entries every now and then.
Until the core developers find the best solution, you can use the Persistent block editor settings plugin. This plugin stores the Fullscreen mode preference in the database. Hence your fullscreen mode choice stays consistent across browsers and devices.